Sri Devi Bhagavatam

Devi Bhagavatam (Devi Puranam)
The Srimad Devi Bhagavatam, also known as Devi Purana, was composed into 12
chapters, containing 18000 verses by the great Veda Vyasa. Though classified as an upa-
purana it is the only purana Vedavyasa called “Maha Purana” meaning the great purana. At
the end of each chapter of the 18 main puranas or the upa puranas is the verse
“This is theend of the fifth section of the Vishnu Purana”, or “Thus ends the first chapter of GaneshaPurana Upasanakhanda called “The Description of Somakanta”.Where as in the Devi
Bhagavatam it is clearly – “Thus ends the eighth chapter of the first Skandha in the
MahapurânaSrimad Devî Bhâgavatam of 18,000 verses by Maharsi Vedavyâsa”. The
choice of words by the great rishis is obvious as Divine Mother is described in all major
sastras as the one beyond and above the trinities and all Gods.

Resources :-Srimad Devi Bhagavatam. Translated by Swami Vijnanananda

Click to access 68655SrimadDeviPurana.pdf

Author: renjiveda

I'm not I

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: