Navratri Celeberations 2012

Navratri History:
Shastras of Sanathana Dharma/Indology confirms the existence oftraditional practices of various Shakthi Poojas.
There are several myths and legends associated with celebration of this Navratri Festival.
As per one legend Mahishasura the mighty demon worshipped Lord Shiva and obtained the power of eternity. So he started to kill and harass innocent people and set out to win seven lokas. Intimated by his power all the gods from swargaloka appealed to Lord Shiva to tame the demon. Then Brahma, Vishnu and Maheshwar (Shiva) united their supreme powers and created a divine being called Shakti or Durga the Warrior Goddess. Mahishasura who happened to see this divine beauty Durga got mesmerized by her beauty and approached her with the intention of marriage. Goddess Durga agreed to marry him but in one condition that Mahishasura should win over her in duel. Mahishasura who was proudy of his power agreed for the duel. The duel went on for 9 nights and the end of 9th night Goddess Durga beheaded Mahishasura. So the nine nights for which the war was fought is called Navrathri. The tenth day is celebrated as Vijayadashmi.

According to other legend King Daksha of Himalayas had a beautiful and Virtuos daughter Uma who had a wish to marry Lord Shiva. As a result she worshipped Lord Shiva and pleased him. Lord Shiva married Uma. Once Uma visited her parents to participate in a Yagna conducted over there, during that time King Daksha insulted Lord Shiva unable to bear the insults meted on her husband Uma decided to end her life by jumping into the agnikund where she was united with the eternity. Henceforth she was also known as Sati. Sati was reborn again and peace was restored between her and parents. In that birth also she married Lord Shiva and lived happily thereafter. It is believed that Sati comes to stay with her parents for 9 days in every year and that time is celebrated as Navarathri.

One hypothesis states that in ancient times Kshatriyas debarred themselves from participating any warlike activities during monsoon season. Once monsoons got over they found the time to start afresh with their war activities. So before the start of their war journey these Kshatriyas worshipped different aspects of Devi for 9 days which is today celebrated as the Navratri.

According to one legend Lord Rama who wanted to release Sita from the clutches of mighty demon king Ravana prayed Goddess Durga in nine aspects for nine days in order to gather the strength and power to kill Ravana. Those nine nights became to be known as Navrathri and on the tenth day Rama killed Ravana that day is called Vijayadashmi or Dashera.

Nine different manifestations of Durga are worshipped during Navratri

Navarathri Puja is done differently on the all nine days. Here is the way by which Navratri Pooja is performed traditionally (Some customs may vary from region to region)

1.Durga :goddess beyond reach


2.Bhadrakali the auspicious power of time

3.Amba or Jagdamba: mother of the world

4.Annapurna: giver of food and plenty

5.Sarvamangala: auspicious goddess

6.Bhairavi: terrible, fearful, power of death

7.Chandika or Handi: violent, wrathful, furious

8.Lalita: playful
9.Bhavani: giver of existence.

– Kalash Sthapana
– Devata Pooja
– Sapta Sati Pooja
– Akhanda Deepa
– Mala Bandhana
– Upavasa (During day time)
– Suvasini Pooja
– Kumari Pooja