Tharananellur (Aniymburi) Padmanaabhan Nambudirippad


Tharananellur Aniymburi

Breath ! Breath ! Breath !!

Praana - the vital energy

Breathing is essential and basic necessity of humans and other mammals, to life, to exist.

The breathing rhythm relies on an area of the brain stem known as the preBötzinger complex
** – a network of neurons exhibiting rhythmic bursts of activity that initiate inspiration.

Please Breath !

The frequency of the rhythm varies in response to such challenges as exercise, sleep, or changes in altitude.

The preBötzinger complex also participates in detecting reduced concentration of oxygen in the blood, stimulating a gasping response in order to restore healthy oxygen levels.

This response is critical to humans diagnosed with Obstructive Sleep Apnea, a disorder in which a sleeping individual’s breathing undergoes prolonged pauses broken by gasps or sighs.

The failure to gasp has been implicated in Sudden Infant Death Syndrome.

It has become clear that an understanding of the cellular mechanisms underlying normal and distressed breathing would be invaluable in treating these and a host of other respiratory ailments.


The nose has a left and a right side; we use both to inhale and exhale. Actually they are different; you would be able to feel the difference.

The right side represents the Sun and
The left side represents the Moon.

During a headache try to close your right nose and use your left nose to breathe. In about five min, you feel recovery from headache.
If you feel tired, just reverse the process; close your left nose and use your right nose to breathe.
After a while you feel your mind is refreshed.

Right side(Sun) belongs to “hot” , hence it gets heated up easily
Left side(Moon) belongs to “cold”, hence the soothing effect.

Most female breathe with their left noses, hence female get “cooled off” faster.
Most of the guys utilize more of the right nose, they get worked up.

Do you notice the moment we wake up, which side breathes faster? Left or Right ??? If left is faster,you will feel tired. So, close your left nose and use your right nose for breathing, you will get refreshed quickly.

This can be taught to kids, but it is more effective when practiced by adults.

Pranayam teaches us this. Closing one nose , first exhale and inhale thru the other, then by closing the other exhale and inhale thru the 1st. Continuing this process several times , you get totally refreshed. Hence can be used as a precaution than cure for headache, cold and throat/nose/ lungs infections. Beware that you are in empty stomach and sit upright in lotus posture or sit on a chair upright with legs crossed. Right hand thumb and any other fingure can be used for closing nose on both sides alternately.

There are seven spiritual charkas in our body, embodying the awakening of the spirit, work in tandem to vitalize and enrich the mind and body.

1)Muladhara (Root) Chakra::–is located in the base of the spine (Color-Golden yellow, Element-Earth, Bij Mantra-LAM), is home to the Kundalini and it’s main aspect is innocence and purity. This reservoir of force symbolizes objective consciousness, the awareness in the physical & terrestrial universe and maintain peace. Good for health if you meditate on this charka.

2)Svadhihana (Sacral) Chakra::–is located slightly below the belly button (Color-Orange, Element-Water and Bij Mantra-VAM), is the charka of creativity, undivided attention and pure knowledge. It is the one which allows partners to reach the inner source of inspiration, and enables them to experience the celestial aura created thus. Meditating on this charka will increase psychic capacities, genial creative imagination, intuitive knowledge, imprisoning passions, anger, attachments, vanity, jealousy and other physical impurities. Also increases regenerative capacity and finally overcomes death.

3)Manipura (Solar) Chakra::–is located one hand span above the belly button (Color-Golden, Element-Fire and Bij Mantra-RAM), is one that gives the sense of generosity, complete satisfaction and contentment. It represents expansive consciousness and the desire for power. The main quality of this chakra is peace. By meditating on this chakra, it gives ability of discovering hidden treasures, person is never touched by illness and his fear of death gets diminished.

4)Anahata (Heart) Chakra::– is located in the centre of the chest (in the area of the cardiac plexus) (Color-Green, Element-Air and Bij Mantra-YAM), symbolizes the consciousness of love, empathy, selflessness and devotion. This is the place wherein resides one’s true self, which is eternally pure and unaffected by anything. Meditating on this chakra, helps normal functioning of the heart and lungs, to get rid of Asthma, keeps blood pressure normal.

5)Vishudhi (Throat) Chakra::–is located in the base of the throat (above where it joins the chest) (Color-Sky Blue, Element-Space, Bij Mantra-HAM), symbolizes pure consciousness and creativity. It is the chakra of pure relationships with others. It also signifies playful detachment, maintains mutual trust and cooperation. Meditating on this chakra, removes all our guilt and remorse when it is opened by the Kundalini and gives us a kind and compassionate voice., removes the feelings of superiority or inferiority and all jealousies & enhances ability to telepathy and clairaudience.

6)Ajna (Brow) Chakra::–is located at the exact centre of forehead.(Element- Brahma, Bij Mantra-AAM), represents the superior mental consciousness that favors the direct perception over the invisible worlds and the direct perception of the subtle aspects of manifestation. The level of consciousness where misunderstanding never occur. Meditating on this Chakra, gives great mental insight, self control, clairvoyance, superior intuition and extra sensorial perception, gets rid of blunt past life karmas, enhances person’s ability to tune in to the highest or deepest levels existence that is , the Tao, Dharma or Boddhisatva.
7)Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra::–is the state of super consciousness, which is to be experienced. The experienced cannot disclose or explain his experience, when the creator and the created become one, where the knower, knowledge and known all the same.
It is a mix of yoga, meditation and pranayama which enables the kundalini to raise from Muladhara to Ajna and attain the state of being in Sahasrara, Aham Brahmasmi, Tatvamasi.

Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum Aum